skip to Main Content

Changing Threads – Celebrating Their 15th Anniversary

Arts Council Nelson are very proud to have presented Changing Threads Contemporary Fibre Textile Art Award along with its founder, our fabulous Creative Director Ronnie Martin, for the last 15 years. We wish to thank the selectors, judges and sponsors past and present along with the talented textile and Fibre artists throughout Aotearoa that continue to raise the calibre of the event year upon year. The event has now become one of the most prestigious of its type in NZ, with increasing visitor numbers each year. As we approach this milestone it is a good time to reflect on our journey so far. Thus we have put together a programme that celebrates the traditions from which our talented and innovative artists draw upon when submitting their work, which is often conceptual, experimental or surprising. That pushes the limits of the materiality of the medium.

Check out 15 Year Celebration Programme of events here.

Finalists 2024.
Arts Council Nelson would like to congratulate this years finalists. The final showcase will feature forty nine works from forty two artists and we are very much looking forward to presenting such a strong show.

Sarah Arnold
Janet Bathgate
Helen Beaven
Esther Bunning
Kara Burrowes
Stephanie Campbell
David Carson
Makyla Curtis
Samara Davis
Patricia Fung
Min-Young Her
Sue Heydon
Rowan Giselle Holt
Maggy J
Kim Lawrence
Judith Lofley
Lisa Matthys
Michelle Mayn
Abby McCall
Pam McKinlay
Adele McNutt

Marina McPherson
Frankie Meaden
Alysn Clare Midgelow-Marsden
Birgit Moffatt
Giles Panting
Catherine Parkinson
Susie  Pascoe
George Peter
Rachel Ratten
Sarah Read
Sarah Ritchie
Christopher Sandoval
Kate Sellar
Deb Shepherd
Yvette Slabbert
Tracey Sullivan
Torrington Sian
Briar van Dort
Robyn Walton
Lettecia Williams
Fleur Woods

​Changing Threads wouldn’t of course happen without the help of our generous sponsors…

We welcome two new partners this year Harcourts Nelson Tasman and NZ Textile Experiences

Harcourts Nelson Tasman sponsoring an Award of Excellence $1000.
NZ Textile Experiences who along with Dame Suzie Moncrieff who has been with us since the Awards inception are together sponsoring an Award of Excellence $1000.

Bernina NZ who’s ongoing support has helped us to this milestone celebration rewardeding artists that blaze the trail with exceptional and innovative practice with their prize for works produced with a sewing machine. $2000

We gratefully acknowledge Nelson City Council and Nelson Tasman for their continued investment over the years.
Arts Council Nelson are proud to award the Supreme Award Winner a cash prize of $4000.

Benjamin Black Goldsmiths returns this year sponsoring the People’s Choice Award with a fabulous creation for the winning artist.

Check out the Programme of Events here.

Click here to find out more…

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top